Windows

I love it that the nights are drawing in. I’ve always loved returning home as after dark, especially when my neighbors are already home and I’m greeted by the comforting glow of living room light through the window blinds. Many people have their blinds open and I can see what they are watching on TV. The person in #9 is watching hockey, the couple in #4 are watching Gilmore Girls, and the woman next door is watching CNN. I just love that little window on someone else’s world.

Before COVID-19, I went to work on the very first bus of the morning, at around 6am. During the dark months of winter I enjoyed the glow of morning TV emanating from condos and apartments along the route. And I would enjoy wondering what the people were doing. Getting ready for work? Taking care of an elderly parent? Or pulling on coat and shoes to take the dog outside, after which they go back to snuggle in bed for another hour.

And I hope that life is treating them OK.

Leave a comment